Kaiserschmarr’n…oh, you don’t speak Austrian?

Actually, no one does…the official language of Austria is German (bam! knowledge!), anyway, these are Austrian Emperor’s Pancakes.

You can get the original recipe at thepassionatecook and mine here.  If you don’t have a scale, you’ll probably want to go with my version since I already converted all the grams to cups.

I want to go ahead and apologize to all of Austria, because I did not do kaiserschmarr’n justice.  First, I think my pan was  too small, I used a standard castiron skillet and the kaiserschmarr’n was far too thick and it cooked sort of funny (my code for, “I totally burned the bottom”).  Next time, I think I’ll halve the recipe, or get a pan that’s twice as large.  Also, I thought having a few lumps in the batter would be okay, but it was not.  I ended up having tons of flour pockets all throughout the kaiserchmarr’n which made for some odd eating.  I think the solution is to sift the flour, and to slowly fold it in in small batches.

My mistakes aside, the kaiserschmarr’n was still pretty delicious.  The batter is very egg-y, and because you whip the whites up, the entire pancake is really light – almost souffle-esque.  (I think a thinner pancake would be less egg-y and thus less souffle-y since it would have cooked more evenly.)  Also, I’m not a huge fan of raisins, but stewing the raisins in orange juice plumps them up nicely and they add nice sweet pops of flavor.

My favorite part of the kaiserschmarr’n was probably the zwetschkenröster (plum compote).  (Original recipe here and my converted recipe here!)  After researching a bit on the internet, it seems like you can use any fruit jam or compote, but I decided to try to keep it authentic by making my own.  This was my first adventure into jamming and jarring and I have to say I liked it.  Cooking the jam made my entire apartment smell delicious and the end product was bananas…or rather plums.  The plums liquefied in front of my eyes and then turned into a deliciously tart fruit jam.  

Also, I didn’t really jar the zwetschkenröster properly (even though it may look like it).  

Apparently if you don’t jar things correctly you can get botulism, at least that’s what my roommate told me. However, since we devoured the zwetschkenröster within 12 hours of me making it and no one’s paralyzed yet, I think we’re in the clear.  (If you do decide to jar the jam, make sure you follow instructions, I found these while I was researching jam-induced botulism.)

Stackies: I’m officially…holding off on rating these until I make them properly.

2 thoughts on “Kaiserschmarr’n…oh, you don’t speak Austrian?

  1. Next time you could maybe try to fry the platter in smaller batches in the pan, and keep it in the oven at around 100CC. Will finish the cooking if need be and you can makr it thinner!
    At least what i do ..

Leave a Reply

