Scallion Me Some Pancakes

After a couple weeks of trying out different (& delicious) pancake recipes, I just had to go back to my roots this week and try out a recipe for scallion pancakes!

   

(You can find the original recipe at the Dramatic Pancake and my annotated one here!)  I’ll admit that the finished product over at the Dramatic Pancake looks much more professional than mine, but mine still tasted great!

First things first, the original directions tell you to use a food processor, but I was feeling too lazy to pull mine out, so I just mixed the dough by hand.  I know, it doesn’t make any sense, I was too lazy to pull out an appliance that actually would have made making the dough easier, but whatever, I’m just tellin’ it like it is.  In any case, my dough still came out lookin’ pretty nice.  See?

I do think that I added a bit too much water so the dough was really sticky and difficult to roll out.  In the end, my pancakes came out a little too thick and I think the excess water was the source of my troubles.  

Another thing, I used about 6-8 bunches of scallions, so make sure you stock up before you get started! I thought I had enough on-hand for the recipe, but I didn’t, and I had to run to the store mid-prep and load up.  I showed up at the register with flour in my hair, sesame oil on my hands, and a basket of scallions – I’m pretty sure the cashier thought I was on some crazy scallion diet.

One last thing, the original recipe for the sauce was a little too sweet for me, so I cut out a bunch of the sugar in my version.  I think if you added the sea salt from the original recipe, the sugar would have been balanced out more; but…since I skipped the sea salt, I decided to just cut the sugar.  I like a more savory sauce in any case.

4 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

