Keeping it Classy with Blueberry Pancakes

This is my favorite (and only?) blueberry pancake-related song, and these are my amazing Blueberry Pancakes!!!

My recipe is a variation of one from the smitten kitchen which is itself from Martha Stewart. ((1) Basically this is the “inception” of blueberry pancake recipes. (2) Once again, all good things stem from Martha Stewart, just as I always suspected.) 

The original recipe calls for buttermilk, which I didn’t have and didn’t feel like going to get.  Normally when I don’t have buttermilk on hand I just mix-up a substitute (1 C buttermilk = 1 C milk + 1 T lemon juice that has sat for a few minutes). But besides not having buttermilk, I also didn’t have any lemons, so instead I recklessly substituted rice vinegar for the lemon juice.  I figured that since rice vinegar isn’t as vinegar-y as regular vinegar and also has a bit of a sweetness to it, that it would be fine. And I was right.  Even better, the vinegar in my faux-buttermilk and the baking soda in the recipe reacted so that the batter got pretty bubbly and the pancakes turned out super fluffy and light.

(buuuuubbles)

The original recipe also calls for 4T of melted butter, but smitten kitchen says she sometimes doesn’t use any. As a compromise, I used 3T.  The pancakes definitely had that delicious melted butter taste, and, since I didn’t use actual buttermilk, I think my pancakes need the melted butter. (or I need/love melted butter…what’s the difference?)

These pancakes have a mild sweetness, I don’t like using syrup on blueberry pancakes because I like getting that natural blueberry flavor, so I just added some powdered sugar on top to get to my desired-sweetness level.  All in all, AWESOME PANCAKES.

4 out of 5 stackies!: 

Leave a Reply

