These Are Healthy Because They’re Vegan…Right?

If you asked me what ingredients make a pancake delicious, I would definitely think of milk/buttermilk, eggs, and butter…so when a few of my vegan friends asked me to make vegan pancakes, I was concerned that I’d get some weird tofu/soy/flax patty of grossness…oh, how wrong I was!

I got this recipe from my friend, Kate, who referred me to Isa Chandler’s website which is a pretty excellent resource for lots of delicious-looking vegan recipes.  (You can see what I did and some more photos here).

One nice thing about this recipe is that there really aren’t any “exotic” ingredients, I actually had all the ingredients except the soy milk which is pretty easy to get.  I did have to grind the flax seeds I randomly have which was a bit of an ordeal.

(my fancy looking spice-grinder)

My spice grinder is sort of fickle and it took me awhile to grind enough flax, but I think it turned out fine in the end.  At one point I tried to use my mortar and pestle but that was a fail…oh well…the flax got ground in the end and that’s all that counts, right?

(some nice-looking batter)

The batter came out pretty firm, but jiggly, and the pancakes were super fluffy.  Actually, the original recipe says that the pancakes will be about 1 inch tall…mine weren’t quite there but they were definitely fluffy. FLUFFY.  I was really pretty pleased with this batter and I think it would be a good base batter for a lot of toppings (berries, chocolate, etc.).  It’s light and vanilla-y, but other than that, can probably handle its fair share of toppings.  

(looking thick – how’d that owl sneak in?)

With a sprinkling of powdered sugar, these pancakes were reminiscent of fried dough…and that’s always a good thing.  In fact, my only critique, and this is me being nit-picky, is that the pancakes were a teeny tiny on the gummy side – almost as if I’d used some rice flour (which I didn’t).  You all should definitely try this recipe out, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

4 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

