Turkish Delight!

(Turkish Zucchini Pancakes = Mucver (MOOSH-vair)

Despite my having a blog about pancakes, which people usually think of as being sweet, I’m really more of a savory person, so here is my pancake ode to all things salty!

I actually thought these could have been a little saltier…but they were still delicious and would be great as a side dish.  They may sound a bit exotic, but these pancakes actually have some pretty classic flavors that work really well together.

As you can see in the picture, there’s a lot of dill in this recipe, so if you don’t like dill…you won’t like these pancakes.  Sorry!  I’m sure there’s some other pancake that you dill-haters will like, though.  The original recipe also calls for aleppo pepper, which I couldn’t find anywhere near me, so instead I did a mix of red chili flakes and paprika which gave a nice kick to the zucchini.  (See what I did here).

One really important step that you should not skip, is to drain the zucchini.  If you don’t, your pancakes will be really really water-logged and they won’t cook properly.  I salted mine a bit, let them sit in a colander for about 30 minutes, and then squeezed them dry in a paper towel (you could also use cheesecloth or coffee filters).  Cheesecloth is probably the optimal squeezing medium, but I didn’t have any on hand.

I served these just plain, and they were so so good.  Lightly fried on the outside, but soft and zucchini-y on the inside.  They were also fairly thin and I got full without being stuffed.  Glorious.  These would be good with some yogurt/sour cream as well.

4 out of 5 stackies:

Leave a Reply

