Spice Up Your Life!

Get the original from Joy the Baker and mine here.

I overdid it with these…sometimes I just try too hard, woe is me.  The original recipe calls for chocolate chips, vanilla sugar, and cinnamon.   I tried to kick up the spices even more (in an attempt to channel some sort of chocolate spice cake) and added nutmeg, cloves, and ginger – it was too much.  The spices and the chocolate did not work together and left a sort of sour aftertaste – not exactly what I was going for.

Another thing to watch out for is the burning of the chocolate, as in the chocolate burns really easily.  My beautiful chocolate chunks kept melting and immediately burning.  I’m not really sure how to fix this except to be very vigilant when you’re cooking.

The pancakes are super fluffy – I’ve made fluffy pancakes before and this is one of the few where my roommate has actually commented on the fluffiness. so yeah, SO FLUFFY.  Oh, I also had a lot of fun making the vanilla sugar.

You just scrape out a vanilla bean and mush it up with sugar, and I got to use my mortar and pestle which is always +!

1 out 5 stackies (although the original recipe is probably much better): 

Leave a Reply

