Bippity Boppity Pancake

Yes, I made Pumpkin Streusel Pancakes and they are as glorious as they sound (and even better than my shoddy photography may reflect).

See the original recipe here, and mine here!

I love streusel and streusel like toppings – crumb cake, coffee cake, berry crumbles – you coat something in a brown sugar/butter topping, I’ll eat it, aaand I’ll like it.  With that being said, the streusel on these pancakes was good, but not great.  In my mind, streusel should have a bit of crunch, but all the streusel ihere got really soft, making for some slightly wet pancakes.

Granted, this might have been entirely my fault.  In my rush to get these pancakes in my belly, I think I undermixed the streusel so that there were still big chunks of butter throughout the streusel leading to meltier-softier streusel.  Ah well, you live and you learn.

(a pre-streusel topped pancake).

If you decide to take the pumpkin plunge and make these pancakes, be prepared for some seriously SWEET pancakiness. Between the sweet sweet streusel, and the pure sugariness of the batter itself, I could only eat 1 pancake before I felt like my teeth were aching from the sugar – now, that didn’t stop me from trying the pancakes with syrup or keep me from eating them in general, but I feel like it’s my duty to at least warn all my fancakes about the extreme sugar content.

Oh, and you might think the dense pumpkin and streusel filling/topping would weigh these puppies down, but these pancakes have some serious fluff to them – I guess you just can’t keep a good pancake down.

3.75 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

