Edd Nog’s Eggnog Blog Log

It’s a mouthful (and if you have no idea what I’m talking about, watch this.)

image

1 Week and 1 Day till Christmas!! Now, I’m not the world’s biggest eggnog fan, but eggnog is super christmas-y so in the spirit of the holidays, I decided to whip up a batch of eggnog…and then I made some pancakes (it’s kind of how a lot of my days go).

image

I’ve never made eggnog before, but I followed Alton Brown‘s recipe (which is the first result in a google search and my brother-in-law mentioned seeing it before).  It was pretty straightforward and mostly just involves a lot of whipping – everything needs to be super fluffy.  Oh, also, we didn’t have any bourbon in the house, so I made an executive decision to use scotch…they’re similar, right? I do think bourbon would’ve made the ‘nog a little sweeter, but my version was fine.   (Get the recipe for my half-batch!) Oh yeah, I still don’t like eggnog, I don’t know, liquory-sweet-cream just isn’t my thing, but that’s just me.  On to pancakes!

image

So in my recipe I added a little extra nutmeg (to make sure you would get that eggnog flavor) and some orange zest (just ‘cause I wanted to zest it up!). You can definitely taste both the eggnog and the zest in the pancakes, which also have a really creamy flavor to them and are mildly sweet.

image

The batter for these pancakes was super thick, and if I had stopped to think about it, I should have realized that I needed to add more eggnog.  Freshly-made eggnog is super creamy (from all the whipping, remember?) so when I measured out how much to use, I didn’t take into account that 1/2 of it was foam and not actual liquid.  My pancakes were a little dry and bready (I’ve fixed the recipe so when you try it, it should work out just right!).  Oh, and the sprinkle of powdered sugar and cinnamon on top of the pancakes is glorious – sweetens things up and brings out some nice holiday spice profiles.

image

I also tried the pancakes with just a dab of the eggnog cream on top which helped with the texture, but made the liquor taste much stronger – regular whipped cream would’ve been a better choice, hmm, or whipped cream with cinnamon? and one one of those little pirouette crackers in it…gah, now I have to go make more!

3 out of 5 stackies: imageimageimage

Leave a Reply

