Off the Griddle with IHOPopotamus at…Wafels and Dinges

(Editor’s Note: IHOPopotamus is officially doing the waffle thing (and the pancake thing)…so I guess we do waffles now!?)

My friend and I recently dared to venture out into the brutal weather New York has been experiencing to taste the offerings of the food truck Wafels & Dinges.  In hindsight, we should have waited for better weather.

image

(image from the Wafels & Dinges twitter)

The truck’s display is very polished and glossy, meaning it appears to be a brand new truck.  The chief told me there is more than one of these trucks cruising around New York, so it is entirely possible I caught a new one. 

My friend described the whole truck as having a very “Williamsburg” vibe, and that’s probably the most apt description anyone could make.  The last time I visited a food truck (Christophe’s Crepes) the owner/chef was a friendly, outgoing Frenchman who seemed genuinely interested in making sure you enjoyed your meal.  This time around, the guy working the truck seemed a little smug.  He was polite, but not really all that welcoming or friendly.  Granted, the weather was dreary when I went, but isn’t that an anticipated hazard of the food cart industry?

 

(bacon waffle from Serious Eats)

On to the waffles.  They were fine.  Not especially filling, and a little overpriced because they weren’t all that filling.  They do get some points for creativity.  I thought I ordered bacon “and” waffles.  I received bacon “inside” the waffle.  It was an interesting twist that was fun to try.  Unfortunately, it came presoaked in syrup; I would have much preferred to pour my own syrup.  I like syrup as much as the next guy, but I’d rather not have my waffles and pancakes completely saturated in it.

My friend ordered a waffle with pulled pork and coleslaw on top.  He seemed satisfied, if not particularly enamored.  It did not look all that appetizing to me. 

(pic from the Wafels & Dinges blog)

Longtime readers might recall my discussion of the difference between food and cuisine when I visited Richie’s Place.  This whole truck, and the pulled pork waffle, seems like an attempt at cuisine without ever really achieving it.  It sacrificed the joy of a relatively simple and tasty food for a sophistication that it never actually reaches.  The truck sounds like a better idea than it actually is.  Keep it simple and get a little friendlier.  People are coming to the truck because they don’t have time for a meal at a restaurant, not because they want to be bohemians.

I give it 2 Paul Bunyans.  If the truck parks near you, it’s worth a shot. There’s no need to seek it out: 

P.S.  I still have no idea what a “dinge” is.

(Editor’s note: a “dinge” is a topping.)

Leave a Reply

