duck…duck…PANCAKE!

Happy Father’s Day! Today’s duck fat pancakes aren’t particularly father-y (or fatherly?) but I’m pretty sure that dads love things cooked in fat, so they should love these pancakes!

The original recipe is from bon appetit and you can find my scaled-down recipe over at my recipe box.  Before I made these, I wasn’t really sure what they would taste like or whether I’d be able to tell that they were cooked in duck fat (as opposed to some other type of oil/fat) at all.

(duck fat)

The outside of the pancakes is super crispy and delicious, and there’s definitely a savory component to the pancakes from the duck fat that you can taste (before you drench them in maple syrup).  Once you crunch through the outside though, the interior is fairly dense and cakey.  Oh, if you don’t have access to duck fat, the original recipe mentions that you can also use clarified butter or ghee…I just happened to be the lucky recipient of some duck fat after my roommate decided to cook an entire duck (yeah, that’s just how we do!)

When you mix up the batter, you’ll notice that it’s super thick, so make sure you cook the pancakes all the way through (sort of a low and slow method…except medium-low and moderately slow).  Also, be super careful when you’re flipping the pancakes, I definitely have a few duck oil burns on my arms from reckless pancake flipping.  Top these puppies with some nice warm maple syrup and you’re good to go!

4 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

