Peanut, Peanut Butter (and pancakes!)

There’s something about peanut butter that just makes me happy.  I always liked pb&j when I was little, but I’d also be happy just to eat an entire spoonful of the good stuff without anything else.  I guess these pancakes (recipe here) are sort of my ode to the peanut butter days.  

As you can see, my roommate and I had a bit of trouble deciding what to top our pancakes with, we ended up experimenting with rhubarb jam, powdered sugar, chocolate sauce, peanut butter, and honey.  My favorite was the honey but they were all good.  You could also use nutella, some fresh fruit, or whipped cream (and just go for the whole fluffer nutter experience!)

I was a little worried that these pancakes would be really dense and we’d have one of these Aaron Burr moments, so to make sure they were nice and light, I used buttermilk (well, my faux version of it), whipped the egg whites separately, and made sure to let the batter aerate by letting it rest.  

Oh, last thing, I used to sing this song A LOT when I was little. And yes, I do still know all the lyrics and the dance moves. Jealous?

3.75 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

