Bikinis, Zucchinis, Martinis, No Weenies

Oh, what’s that you say? You don’t have an encyclopedic knowledge of food-related Katy Perry lyrics? Don’t worry, we got you. 

It’s no secret I love zucchini and these Hobak Jeon (Korean zucchini pancakes) were pretty dang good. (The original recipe is from Kitchen Wench and my version is over at my recipe box!)

image

(buy it from zazzle!)

Even though these pancakes have lots of veggies in them, they definitely err on the side of hearty and filling, rather than healthy and light.  I ended up just eating a whole bunch of pancakes for my entire meal (I know…my life is so hard) and even though my belly was pretty happy, I felt like I had to eat straight-up salad for the next few days to compensate.

imageI will also put it on the record, that I had a bit of difficulty cooking these pancakes.  There was just too much liquid in the batter from the zucchini, onion, and carrots; my pancakes came out runny and a little soggy.  I’m pretty sure I’ve fixed the problem in my recipe, but just be aware, if your batter looks runny, just go ahead and add a bit more flour.

image

These pancakes were decent, but as far as zucchini goes, I prefer the Turkish Mucver from last summer.

3 out of 5 stackies: imageimageimage

Leave a Reply

