Cut the (Cream) Cheese

This week, we’re talking cream cheese pancakes.  But don’t worry, these are actually the opposite of decadent.

(The original recipe is at I Breathe I’m Hungry and my version is here!)

When I started reading this recipe, it looked like it was being touted pretty hard as a low-carb gluten-free pancake.  Now, I’m not particularly interested in low-carb or gluten-free (this is a pancake blog after all), but I thought the recipe sounded interesting and it couldn’t hurt to have a solid low-carb gluten-free recipe on hand, just in case.

Reality is, though, the carbs are the most important part of a pancake!! They’re what keep pancakes from being weird omelettes.  In any case, these tasted alright.  They were super cinnamon-y and reminiscent of a cinnamon cheesecake, so far so good, right?

My problem was really with the texture.  They were kind of spongey (from the cream cheese), very soggy, and ripped easily.  Honestly, they kind of tasted like crepes…of failure. failure crepes. And that’s not really what I want to eat in the morning.  Final verdict? I guess if for medical reasons, you have to eat low-carb and gluten-free, these would tide you over, but I’m sure there’s a better recipe out there.

2 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

