French Toast Pancakes

Major disclaimer, these sound way better than they actually turned out.  If you’re still interested, read on, check out the original, and see what I did over at my recipe box.

I have to admit, I was instantly smitten with the idea.  Pancakes turned into French toast? I love both, sign me up!  Plus, this recipe also makes a pretty awesome apple-cinnamon-maple syrup.

I’ll start with the positive parts of the review.  Even though it seems like there’s a lot going on with the recipe, it’s actually pretty simple, just take things step by step.  

Also, like I mentioned before, the apple cinnamon syrup is GOOD. Apple-y and cinnamon-y and definitely worth saving.

And now for the not so great parts.  Frankly, it was the pancakes.  I tasted them on their own and they were not so bad, but definitely chewy.  Add the additional cooktime from the French toast part, and they came out really gummy.  I blame it on the banana. 

I spent some time discussing the execution of these pancakes with my brother-in-law.  I think that a fluffier base pancake, maybe like the ricotta pancakes, left out over night and then French toasted would have worked out better.  My BIL thought that the pancake flop was due to the inherent structural differences between French toast and bread…perhaps.  He suggested barely cooking the pancakes the first time (so over really high heat, but for a very short period of time), French toasting them, and then cooking them more thoroughly the second time so that the pancakes spent less time just sitting in the pan.  Another possibility.   Oh well, let me know if you try these pancakes or any of my hypotheses!

2.5 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

