Dropped Not Flipped (and giveaway results!!)

Well, a little bit flipped.

imageThese are Guyanese Pancakes and they are pretty dang delicious.  They’re based on Portuguese malasadas with the main difference being the type of toppings used on the pancakes (syrup for the Guyanese and powdered/granulated sugar for the Portuguese).  Either way, they’re delicious.

(I obviously had to try both).

The pancakes need to rise for 1.5 hours and they’re fried, but they’re still pretty easy to make, in fact, I was sort of impressed by how easy the recipe was.

The syrup was also easy to put together and really delicious – the cinnamon came through really well and now I have a little carafe of cinnamon syrup in my fridge to satisfy all my syrup needs!

My main problem with these pancakes was the texture.  They were a little dense and spongey.  In fact, I could only eat one pancake (a crime!).  Maybe if these were smaller they’d be lighter? I’m not sure, I don’t have a ton of experience in the fried pancake department, but I definitely feel like they could be lighter and not as gut-sticking.  Ah well, c’est le pancake.  

3.75 out of 5 stackies: 

Oh, you want to know who won the giveaway?

IT’S MYLE!!! I’ll keep you posted on what pancake batter he picks!

Leave a Reply

