Off the Griddle with Ihopapotamus at…Eatery (sort of)

Oh the weather outside is frightful on the Upper West Side!  What’s a girl to do when the streets of Manhattan are a slushy, cold mess?  Clearly, there is only one answer:  Pancake delivery!  I was curious (and somewhat skeptical) about how door-to-door pancakes would turn out, but my roommate and I put Eatery’s promise of delicious pancake delivery to the test. 

798 9th Ave, New York, NY 10019

(image from google maps!)

Eatery is located at 798 Ninth Avenue (53rd St. & 9th Avenue), New York, NY 10019.  Their number is 
(212) 765-7080, although my roommate and I placed our order through Seamless.  After considering numerous options, we were drawn in by Eatery’s assortment of interesting pancakes.  I ordered the “House Pumpkin Buttermilk Pancakes,” and my roommate went for the “Belgian Chocolate Buttermilk Pancakes,”  which were served with strawberry butter.

 We placed our order late Saturday morning – nothing like starting the weekend off with home-delivered brunch! – and it arrived at our apartment about fifty minutes later. 

The pancakes were delivered in individualized tupperware and topped with strawberries and blueberries.  Butter and syrup was provided. (Extra syrup was available for an additional $0.50 cost.)  We were disappointed with the butter – particularly my roommate’s so-called strawberry butter – because it was largely melted by the time our delivery arrived, which gave it a weird, unsettling consistency.  The pancakes were served with some sort of mini-pastries, too, which were freshly baked, topped with sugar, and tasted like warm cookie dough in the middle, a pleasant surprise.  

 

[Buttermilk Pumpkin Pancakes on Top Left; Belgian Chocolate Pancakes on the Bottom Right]

[Buttermilk Pumpkin Pancake]

[Belgian Chocolate Buttermilk Pancake]

[Melted Strawberry Butter on the Left; Syrup on the Right]

[Delicious Mystery Pastry]

[Buttermilk Pumpkin Pancakes]

As for the pancakes themselves – they were excellent.  My buttermilk pumpkin pancakes were sweet, with just a slight hint of pumpkin.  They were still warm upon delivery, and they had a fluffy, fresh-off-the-griddle consistency.  (The consistency had been my biggest concern about delivery.)  My roommate’s chocolate buttermilk pancakes were also loaded with chocolate chips – but not to the point that the chocolate was overwhelming – and had the same sweet taste and consistency that my pancakes did.  Although the pancakes were small in size, they were extremely filling.  Each order contained four pancakes, and I only managed to finish two, and my roommate finished about 1½.  I’m not complaining though; obviously the only thing better than one delicious pancake meal is another!  (And, for the record, the panckaes reheated quite well.) 

Overall, I consider my first venture into the world of pancake delivery a resounding success, and one that I would definitely repeat.  To Eatery, I tip my hat, and award four Paul Bunyans for warm, fresh pancakes delivered straight to my door that brightened a cold winter day.  

4 out of 5 Paul Bunyans:

Leave a Reply

