Sweet (Potato) Tooth

I love sweet potatoes, and, actually, I like sweet potato pie even better than pumpkin pie, so when I found this recipe for Sweet Potato Pancakes with a Brown Butter Syrup, I was excited to say the least.

If you’re anything like me, I’ll save you the pain of having to wait a second longer and give you the original recipe and my version here (which makes half batch of about 9 palm-sized pancakes).

The first time I ever had sweet potato, it was when my older sister took me to the Union Square farmer’s market in the fall and let me pick out a few goodies (that was also where I had strawberry-rhubarb crumble for the first time, another favorite of mine!).  It was love a first bite, I love the delicate sweet flavor of sweet potato, in my opinion, it’s the more demure cousin of pumpkin and I’m all about it.

These pancakes have the same sweet delicacy of the sweet potato and will definitely satisfy anyone with a sweet potato tooth. On their own, the pancakes are lightly sweet and with just a hint of that potato-y goodness.  With the sauce, the pancakes are outrageous.  They also have an awesome toothfulness, a little chewy but still light and fluffy.

With the sauce, these pancakes will definitely transport you to fall, if not to the front of the fireplace, they totally give off that warm comfort food, “I just want to lay in a mountain of blankets vibe”…so perfect weekend food.  Oh, and if the sauce hardens on you (like it did to me), just reheat it a little – not too much because you don’t want the sugar to burn, but if you turn the stove on low and stir, the sauce should get re-sauce-ified in just a few minutes.

4 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

