They’re Classics For A Reason…

Hey fancakes, this week I decided to test out a classic pancake recipe from Clinton St Baking Co.  Their pancakes are famous, as in voted multiple times as the best pancakes in NYC multiple times not to mention our very own Ihopapotamus gave them a 4 out of 5 Paul Bunyan review…high praise indeed!

Press aside, I was a little worried that my homecooked version of these famous pancakes just wasn’t going to measure up.  I shouldn’t have been afraid though, the recipe is posted by none other than DeDe Lahman, co-owner of the Bakery and when I was cracking eggs, I got a double yolk! These pancakes were clearly fated to succeed! (check out my recipe box for my smaller batch recipe, with more pics!)

On their own the pancakes are delicious! They’re a little on the plain side, but just lightly sweet and with a really unique and delicious eggy texture.  The pancakes are also just as fluffy as promised with a springiness reminiscent of sponge cake.

I chose to go with the traditional powdered sugar/syrup/butter combo and I’m glad I did! These pancakes are so good that you don’t need to do much to make them delicious and sometimes a classic pancake breakfast is exactly what I want.  

4.5 out of 5 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

