Beghrir Your Pardon

Note: I was just checking on this post and I totally published this on Sunday (3/16) but for some reason WordPress says I published it on 2/18….weirrrrd

So Moroccan Beghrirs are third up inmy North African/Middle Eastern series of pancakes, and I think that they are my favorite so far!

photo 5

I also made some Moroccan mint tea (following this recipe) to go with the beghrir and the tea was DELICIOUS.   I followed the whole recipe and made a big container of tea to keep in the fridge for the next few days. Even if you don’t make these pancakes, you should definitely make the tea, it’s lightly sweet, minty, and refreshing, basically everything you want in a refreshing beverage.  I’m pretty excited.

5

Okay, on to the beghrirs, pancakes come out very soft and a little bit spongey, definitely a good texture for soaking up the softened butter and honey that top these pancakes.  They’re also really easy to make, you basically blend everything together and then let it sit.  Plus, these pancakes are only cooked on one side, no flipping needed! (I almost named this post “No Flipping Way” but decided that was slightly too vague…not that “Beghrir Your Pardon” really tells you anything about these pancakes…I may need to work on my post naming…)

photo 3

In fact, the way that these pancakes soak up all that buttery honey goodness, they sort of reminded me of Moroccan-style crumpets! (now, those were really good).  Plain, these pancakes don’t have much taste at all, there’s only a 1/2 tsp of salt in the recipe, and no sugar.  When I first found this recipe, I was pretty excited to see what the orange blossom water would be like.

2

(I ordered this bottle from amazon).

The blossom water smelled amazing – like a distillation of rainwater dripping off of oranges…yeah, basically poetry.  In the pancakes, the flavor was not nearly as prominent.  In my head, I think the effect of orange blossom water is kind of what happens with bay leaves in stew.  You know how bay leaves are often used to impart some “warmth” to stews and soups?  Well, the blossom water had a similar effect, making the beghrir taste more “Moroccan” without actually making anything taste like oranges. …I guess you might have to make them to see what I’m talking about.

3.75 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackie.75

Ingredients (adapted from Flowers and Flours):

(makes 8 pancakes)

1/2 C warm water

1/2 C milk

1/2 tsp yeast

1/2 C all purpose flour

1/2 C semolina flour

1 egg

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp orange blossom water

softened butter and honey (for topping)

Directions:

Add the yeast to the warm water and let sit for 10 minutes.

1

In a blender, combine all the ingredients (including the yeast and water) – I let the water and yeast sit in the cup of the blender.

3

Let the batter rest for 30 minutes.

In a lightly buttered pan over medium low heat, cook 1/4 C batter at a time.

photo 2

Cook the beghrir for about 3 minutes, lots of bubbles will form – DO NOT TURN THE BEGHRIR.  At this point, the beghrir should be done (the bottom will be golden brown and the top will be full of bubbles but dry).

photo 3

Slather with softened butter and honey – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

