Pancake Like an Egyptian

In my continuing quest to explore pancaking in the Northern Africa and Middle Eastern regions, I set my sites fatir mishaltit or Egyptian pancakes.  Truthfully, it was pretty difficult for me to track down a recipe.  I ended up going with this one for ingredients, but took some liberties and incorporated some techniques from this video.

6

 

In the end, I don’t think this is terribly authentic, but it tasted good!  I couldn’t quite get the whole slapping the dough onto a work surface until it’s paper thin technique down, but I did my best to roll and pull the dough as thin as I could to create lots of thin flaky layers.

3

 

I’ve never made my own croissants or danish, but I think these pancakes incorporate a similar technique – layers + butter = goodness.  Plain, this pancake sort of tastes like a dense croissant.  Drizzled with some honey and dusted with powdered sugar, the pancake tasted glorious, like a lightly sweetened, flaky croissant-fried dough mash-up.  Pretty good. pretty pretty good.

4

In fact, I realized I had been hogging the faux fatir and offered some to my boy and told him to eat what he wanted…note, usually he’s totally not a sweets person and will only have a bite or two of any pancake I make…and when I looked back a few minutes later, all the pancake was gone! Hmph, I guess I”ll just have to make some more!

3.75 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackie.75

Ingredients:

1 C flour

1/4 C water

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 C ghee

Directions:

Sift the flour and salt into a bowl.  Make a well in the flour mixture and pour in the water.  Mix the dough together and knead it for about 10 minutes. (You may have to add a little more water to get a nice stretchy and pliable dough. )  Let the dough rest uncovered for about 30 minutes.

1

Coat your work surface with a light layer of ghee so that the dough doesn’t stick.  With a rolling pin, roll out the dough into a large circle.  Make it as large as it will go and pull at the edges to get it even larger and thinner (don’t rip the dough, though!) Brush the dough with ghee. Fold in 2 sides of the dough.  Brush with ghee and roll out again.

2

Fold in the opposite sides, brush with ghee, and roll out again.  You’ll want to repeat this process at least 4 times (so twice more). You always want to be working opposite sides of the dough.  The last two times, I folded in opposite corners of the dough.

3

Roll out the dough to about a 9″ circle – mine fit in a pie pan, if you can get it thinner, feel free to use a bigger pan (just try to keep the shape round).

Bake in an oven set at 350 for about 30 minutes.  The pancake will rise up and sink back down, it’s done when it’s golden brown on top.

5

Drizzle with honey and dust with powdered sugar. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

