You Down With PPP?

Hi Fancakes, sorry about the delayed post – I went home this weekend to see the family and to meet with the priest who will be performing my wedding ceremony!! Basically…I just totally lost track of my Sunday.  Never fear, though, I still have a post for you.  This week, I tested out this recipe (from Pretty Simple Things) for Persian Potato Pancakes.

4

These were really really good, almost like really thin latke-y potato hash browns. I had them with my dinner and I was so glad I did.  In fact, I barely saved any for the boy. SORRY I’M NOT SORRY.  It’s hard to go wrong with potatoes and onions and since I already love turmeric, I knew this recipe was going to be a hit.

(photo from 1funny)

The only issue I had with these pancakes were that they definitely stuck to the bottom of my pan, so just make sure you’re using an awesome non-stick pan and/or you grease up your pan before you start cooking.

3.75 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackie .75

Ingredients:

1 Idaho potato (medium size)

1/2 smallish red onion

1 egg

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp salt

3 Tbs vegetable oil (I used canola)

Directions:

Using the smallest setting, grate the potato and onion.

1

Whisk in the egg, salt, and turmeric.

2

Oil a non-stick pan over high heat (with about 2 Tbs of oil).  Once the pan is hot (if you drop some water on it, bubbles should sizzle immediately), pour the batter into the pan and spread it as thinly as possible.

Cook the pancake on high heat for 2 minutes, then turn the heat down low and cook for another 10 minutes.  Cut the pancake into 4 sections.

Flip the pancakes, and cook on high for another minute.  Then, turn the heat back down to low and cook for another 10 minutes.  (You may need to add more oil if your pan dries out).

3

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

