Blackberry Fields Forever

Hi Folks,

I have a treat for you this week, it’s a SYTYCP original, “Blackberry Crepes with Coffee Ice Cream (and a chocolate drizzle).” Not the most creative name, I know, but at least you know what you’re getting!

photo 3

 

I had a bit of a crepey week, so even though I had these for breakfast, I decided to treat myself.  These were largely inspired by my beet crepes (hey, if beets can be made into awesome crepes, blackberries should be even better, right?)  I was maybe a little wrong? On their own, the pancakes were almost a little bitter, I think from the blackberry seeds. (At the same time, I loved the texture of the seeds in the pancakes) I think if I had added more sugar to the batter itself, the crepes would’ve been great, but let’s face it, would you rather eat a plain blackberry crepe or one topped with ice cream and chocolate?…That’s what I thought, too!

Pureed Blackberries

Pureed Blackberries

I also underestimated how thick the blackberries would make the batter, so definitely keep the milk out when you get ready to cook – I’ve adjusted the recipe, but it never hurts to have extra milk.  By the way, your batter will be a glorious shade of purple* (picture is below if you’re interested). If you’re a little iffy on the coffee ice cream, I HIGHLY encourage you to try it. I love coffee ice cream with just about any berry, it’s just a step up from your classic berries and cream. BUT, if you’re not ready to take the plunge, this would be just as good with vanilla ice cream, chocolate, or even sorbet (that would make it healthy, right?)  Maybe next time, I’ll make my own ice cream, too!

3.75 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackie.75

Ingredients:

1 C blackberries

3/4 C flour

2 Tbs sugar

1 1/4 C milk (I used a combo of whole and skim…because I ran out of one)

1 egg

butter (for the pan)

scant 1/4 C chocolate chips (for the drizzle)

a scoop of ice cream

mint leaf garnish – just cause we fancy ’round these parts

Directions:

Whisk together 1 C milk and the egg until frothy.

1

Sift in the flour and sugar and whisk just until combined.

2

(mine’s a little brown because I used whole wheat flour for this batch)

Wash and puree the blackberries as smooth as possible.  Whisk the berries into the batter (the batter may clump up, but if you keep whisking, it’ll smooth out. Cover with saran wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

photo 4

(I definitely stared at the batter for a bit – it’s so pretty!)

Whisk in up to 1/4 C more milk at this point if the batter is too thick. It should be the consistency of a thickish soup and should slide off a spoon in a smooth (but thick) stream.

Lightly melt a little bit of butter over medium heat.  Cook 1/4 C batter at a time.

photo 1

When you pour the batter into the pan, make sure you swirl the pan so that the crepe gets nice and thin.  Cook for about 2 minutes – until the top looks dry and the edges are crispy and flip.

photo 2

Cook for another minute, then slide off onto a plate and cook the rest of the batter.

When you’re getting towards the end of the batter, melt your chocolate (I microwaved it in 20 second increments, stirring every 20 seconds until the chocolate was nice and liquidy.

photo 5

Let the chocolate drizzle cool for a bit while you scoop the ice cream. I plated 2 crepes, folded in half on a plate, dropped a quenelle of ice cream on top, did a quick chocolate drizzle over the whole thing and photographed as quick as I could so I could get to EATING.

Enjoy!

*This year, Pantone’s color of the year is Radiant Orchid – Is it weird that I’m oddly excited that my pancake batter matched the color almost perfectly? Never mind, just accept my awesomeness.

 

 

Leave a Reply

