Off the Griddle with Ihopapotamus at…the City Limits Diner!

Whenever I’m asked to guest-potamus, I start looking at the “best of” pancakes lists for New York City. (That is, obviously, after saying “yes, of course! You’re asking me if I’m willing to go eat pancakes!”) City Limits Diner in White Plains, NY hasn’t been on any of the lists I’ve seen, since it’s not actually in New York City. But lucky me, my boyfriend’s parents live nearby, so when we visit, we often get to stop by City Limits.
city limits map
(from google maps)
Breakfast at a diner always presents a dilemma: savory or sweet? Eggs and bacon (or sausage, or ham, or corned beef hash) is salty and always satisfying. There’s something magical about breakfast meats cooked on a griddle. Especially when they’re smoked in-house, like at City Limits. But then there are pancakes (or waffles, or french toast, or crepes), which I hear are good enough to be the sole subject of internet blogs.
(from puppytoob.com)Recently, I’ve solved my dilemma by just ordering both. Breakfast. Then breakfast desert. For my breakfast at City Limits, I ordered the eggs benedict. Perfectly poached eggs sit atop house smoked Canadian bacon that makes you want to grow a beard and wear some flannel (because that’s how I imagine Canadians). A hearty toasted english muffin sets a tasty foundation. And a smooth, tangy hollandaise sauce envelops it all. But since this is a pancake blog, I’ll skip a longer description of that and get to the pancakes.

CityLimits pancake with syrup
You can order regular pancakes or whole wheat griddle cakes, and toppings are available for both (strawberry, blueberry, or chocolate chip). For my breakfast desert I decided to go with the original and just do plain pancakes, no toppings. Although “just” is really not the right word. You’re not sacrificing anything by “just” getting the regular pancakes.
Like something off the pages of cookbooks and magazines, these pancakes arrive looking air-brush perfect. Golden brown and smooth on the outside. Fluffy and soft on the inside. What might be light maple syrup (but still the real stuff) complements the delicate yet indulgent flavor of these amazing pancakes. And although they’re quite large, you might feel like three isn’t enough.
Untitled
(from the City Limits website)
Since beginning my breakfast and breakfast desert trend, I’ve usually shared the sweet item with my dining companion. And it’s usually civil. But at City Limits, the pancakes were good enough to launch a competitive eating event. I did manage to savor and enjoy, but next time I’ll be getting an order all to myself.
If you are ever in White Plains (or Stamford), I would highly recommend that you go to City Limits and have breakfast (and breakfast desert). It makes and tops the “best of” pancakes list in my book.
5 out of 5 Paul Bunyans: Untitled1Untitled1Untitled1Untitled1Untitled1
Leave a Reply

