It’s Buckwheat Baby!

Hi Fancakes, I feel like we’ve come to a point in our relationship where I can tell you guys a secret, right?

I kind of don’t like salted caramel. I KNOW. It’s not that I hate the flavor, it’s just that I feel like it’s everywhere -anytime someone wants to do something “cool” with food, they make salted caramel. I’m a hater…sorry! Anyway, I’ve been sitting on this recipe from Smitten Kitchen for forever because of the salted caramel but then I figured that if anyone could convert me, it was SK, so without anymore of my whining, I give you a buckwheat baby with salted caramel sauce.

photo 3

And, even with my anti-caramel attitude, I LOVED THIS PANCAKE. I love dutch babies to start with and this recipe is no exception. The buckwheat gives the pancake a slightly toothier texture than the classic recipe and the salted caramel is just right. Not too salty, not too sweet, just a great balance between the two that really brings out the inherent buckwheatiness of the pancake.

3

(mmm, salted caramel…I can say that now!)

I will say that the pancake was slightly spongier than the other dutch baby recipes I used but that was totally my fault and not a problem with the recipe. The recipe is for either a 12″ pancake or two 9″pancakes. I only have a 10″ pan and I was too lazy to adjust the recipe, soooo…yeah. my b. With that being said, the pancake was still delicious. (If you’re lazy like me, just cook the pancake for a little longer and you’ll be fine…)

photo 2

Oh, also, I thought my pancake was just a tad too buttery (blasphemy, I know) so I modified that in the recipe, too!

4 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackiestackie

Ingredients:

(for the syrup)

1/4 C granulated sugar

1 1/2 Tbs unsalted butter

pinch Kosher salt

just over 1 oz heavy cream

(for the pancakes)

3 Tbs buckwheat flour

3 Tbs all-purpose flour

1 Tbs granulated sugar

pinch Kosher salt

1/2 C whole milk

2 eggs

2 Tbs unsalted butter

Directions (for a 10″ pan):

Start by making the syrup. Melt the sugar in a medium sized saucepan over medium high heat. Stir the sugar constantly so that it doesn’t burn.

1

 

Keep cooking the syrup and stirring until it liquefies and gets to the color of a penny. Add the butter and sea salt, cooking until the butter is completely melted.

2

After you add the butter, the caramel will be bubbly.  When the butter is fully melted, turn the heat down and slowly stir in the heavy cream – the caramel will foam up and sound crazy, just keep stirring until the sauce is smooth.

3

Once smooth, just remove the sauce from the heat and make the pancake!

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees (F).  Make the batter by whisking together the flours, sugar, salt, milk, and egg (some lumps are okay).

photo 1Melt the butter in a castiron pan over medium low heat, make sure the swirl the butter all over the pan. Once the butter is melted, pour the batter into the pan and cook for a few seconds (about 15).

photo 2 Then, slide the pan into the oven and bake for about 18 minutes.

Remove the pancake from the oven, slide it out of the pan and top it with the caramel. ENJOY!

 

 

Leave a Reply

