Stay Puft!

Hi Fancakes!

So, I’ve been sitting on this recipe for awhile (one of my trusty ihopapotami sent it to me a few months ago), but I’ve been waiting for fresh corn to be in season! I’m probably still a little early, but I saw a few ears at the farmer’s market and I just couldn’t resist. Without further ado, I present a Puffy Corn Pancake with Blackberry Sauce. (original recipe from the New York Times)

2

 

Corn and blackberries are definitely at the top of my favorite foods list so I was pretty excited to make these and shove them into my mouth eat them. I have to say, though, I was a leeetle disappointed. On its own, the pancake is a little bland and chewy–there isn’t much sugar in the dough itself, so when you get the pops of corn kernels, those bites are excellent, but if you get a bite of plain pancake, it’s just sort of meh.

3

(my fancy way of cutting kernels off the cob and actually getting all the kernels in a container instead of just all over the kitchen — and yes, that is the world’s smallest angel food cake pan)

Putting the blackberry sauce on the pancake changes up the entire game.  Honestly, you just can’t go wrong with blackberries cooked in sugar until the berries just start popping and you get a thick syrupy mess of deliciousness.  The key to really kicking the pancake up a notch is letting the sauce sit on the pancake and really seeping in. I tried the pancake just minutes after I put the sauce on, about half an hour later, and the next morning, and the longer I waited, the better the pancake got.

10

The way you cook this pancake is similar to the method for Dutch Babies, the key difference (in my moderately profession pancake opinion) is in texture. Dutch babies are soft and pillowy, this pancake was pretty dense and almost had a dense sponge-cake like texture.  I was sort of expecting a more Dutch baby-like texture so this pancake threw me at first, but eventually, it won me over.

Overall, this is an interesting sort of cornbready pancake that’s interesting to try, but just be warned that it may not be a total crowdpleaser.

3 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackie

Ingredients:

3 Tbs unsalted butter

1/2 C flour

1/4 C fine cornmeal

5 eggs

1/3 C whole milk

2 Tbs honey

pinch sea salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

3/4 C fresh cut corn kernels (it took me 1 large ear to get to)

2 C blackberries

3 Tbs sugar

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Put the butter in a pie pan and let the pan heat up in the oven until the butter starts to bubble (about 5 minutes).

In a large bowl, whisk together the two flours.

flour

In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and milk.

eggs

Whisk the egg mixture into the flours. Slowly whisk in the honey, salt, and pepper. Try to get as many lumps out as possible. Stir in the corn.

batter

Pour the batter into the prepared dish.

in pan

 

Bake the pancake for about 25 minutes – the sides should puff up and the entire pancake should be golden to dark brown.

While the pancake is cooking, make the sauce. Cook down the blackberries and sugar over medium heat until the sugar dissolves. Then, turn the heat down to low and let the blackberries simmer while the pancake finishes cooking. The finished sauce should be thick and syrupy.

blackberries

 

Once the pancake is done baking, pour the sauce over the pancake and let sit for at least 30 minutes. Then slice and enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

