Oh Boy, Almond Joy!

Hi Fancaking Friends,

Have you ever done that thing where you accidentally buy the wrong thing from the super market and then just throw whatever you got into the back of the fridge and forget about it for too long? Yeah…to my credit, we’ve been ordering from FreshDirect (online grocery delivery…it’s pretty awesome) and I feel like I’m more prone to making mistakes when I don’t actually see the product I”m buying. Oh well. This is the story of how my mistake in buying slivered blanched almonds turned into almond meal pancakes. (You think you know, but you have no idea. This is the diary of…no? No one else compulsively says that anytime someone says “this is the story of…”?)

almond pancake

 

Anyway, I was cleaning out my fridge, and lo and behold, I find this container of slivered almonds, no idea when or why I bought them except that I faintly remember wanting whole blanched almonds and getting these delivered instead. So, of course, in this household, extraneous ingredients = pancake inventions. I figured since both almond butter and almond flour are used in pancakes, that some homemade almond meal would work as well.

photo 1

And, I was sort of right. The flavor of the pancakes is really good! You get that light sweet almond taste and you know it’s authentic because the only flavorings used are straight up almonds and sugar (that’s right, no extract!). The rub comes in the texture. Because the almond meal is…well, mealy, the pancakes have a sort of sandy almost coarse shortbread flavor (crumbly, but soft). As I was eating the pancakes, I realized that these perhaps aren’t the best breakfast pancake. They’re very hearty from all the almonds and each bite really fills your mouth since the pancake sort of transitions into almond butter in your mouth…delicious but a little overwhelming. I think the trick is to make them into silver dollars, and then have them with tea. Almost like little pancake-tea-shortbread-teacakes. I can already see them piled onto one of those fancy tiered stands while Jeeves pours me a hot cuppa…have I gone too deep into this storyline? Probably.

(the Queen knows what I’m talking about – photo from here via google images.)

Okay, so with all that in mind, I’m going to give these almond meal pancakes…

3.5 out of 5 stackies!:stackiestackiestackie.5

Ingredients (makes 4 pancakes):

1 C slivered, blanched almonds pulsed into a coarse meal (I used a food processor)

1/4 C flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 C powdered sugar

1 C milk

1 egg

butter for cooking

Directions:

Pour your almonds into your food processor and pulse until they get to the texture of a coarse meal, almost like wet sand, but much coarser.

photo 2

Transfer the almond meal into a mixing bowl and add all the other ingredients. Whisk well. The batter will seem a little gloopy/slimy.

photo 3

Heat a nonstick frying pan over medium low heat. Melt a little bit of butter, just enough to grease the bottom of the pan. Cook 2 Tbs of batter at a time (these pics were taken when I cooked 1/3 C but like I mentioned, I think smaller is better.

photo 4

Flip after 2-3 minutes, the top should be bubbly, the edges should look dry, and the pancake should flip easily.

photo 5

 

Top with powdered sugar and enjoy! (I think these would also be delicious with honey, chocolate syrup, or fresh fruit.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

