Hey Ho, Pistachio!

Hi Fancakes!

So I was home celebrating my brother-in-law’s birthday this week – he’s a HUGE pistachio fan so I whipped up some pistachio cream filled pistachio cupcakes (that’s right, when we go pistachio, we go all the way). Anyway, I had a whole bunch of leftover pistachio pastry cream that was just too good to toss so I came up with a pancake version of the cupcakes.

photo 2

 

I was going for a Middle Eastern inspired pancake so I brought in some orange blossom water and cinnamon to go along with the pistachio pastry cream. Overall, I think it worked pretty well, although I’m not too proud to admit that I totally oversalted the pancakes…woops. Don’t worry, I fixed it in the recipe (below), but I will say, erring on the side of slightly salty is good for these pancakes because it really brings out the pistachio-ness.

1

I also decided to go with silver dollar pancakes because (1) small things are awesome and (2) since I made a “pancake tower,” I decided smaller pancakes would be easier to work with.

5

Oh, and if you’re interested in my cupcake recipe, just let me know! They were pistachio cupcakes, filled with pistachio cream, topped with a sourcream honey buttercream (pics are in my instagram feed).

3.75 out of 5 stackies:stackiestackiestackie.75

Ingredients:

(makes about 20 silver dollars)

1/2 C milk

3/4 C flour

1 egg

1/4 C butter, melted

1 Tbs sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 Tbs orange blossom water

1/2 recipe pistachio pastry cream

Directions:

Whisk together the milk, flour, and egg. Add in the melted butter, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Whisk until the batter is smooth. Whisk in the cinnamon and orange blossom water.

3

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium heat. Cook 1 Tbs of batter at a time.

2

Cook for about 2 minutes, until the tops are bubbly and the edges are dry. Flip and cook for another minute.

4

Finish cooking the rest of the pancakes! Take one pancake at a time, and dollop some pastry cream on it. Spread it evenly over the pancake and then top it with another pancake.

photo 1

I stacked 5 pancakes at a time but feel free to go as high or low as you want!

 

 

Leave a Reply

