Between Two Nectarines

Hey Fancakes!

I was at a little bit of a loss as to what to make this week, but I stopped by the local fruitstand and the nectarines were just calling out to me (also the figs, but those may have been eaten before any pancaking could happen…)

photo 5

I thought about what I’d like to do with these and then I started thinking about peach pie, then peach cobbler, then streusel and that’s basically how I ended up with nectarine pancakes topped with streusel…that makes sense right?  Then I remembered the pumpkin streusel pancakes I made, found an awesome peach pancake recipe, and it kind of took off from there!

photo 4

The peach pancakes recipe from Summer Living talks about making these for brunch – I do think that these would make a super cute presentation, but at the same time, they’re a little finicky so I’m not sure I’d want to make a ton of them for guests. The pancakes really want to pull away from the fruit so I definitely had some pancakes just crumple on me (not photographed, but still enjoyed!).

photo 3

Oh, also, the original recipe called for two types of flour, so I went with it. I think that it totally makes a difference and the heartier pancakes stands up well to the streusel and nectarines, but if you don’t have  multiple types of flour or don’t feel like getting any, I think using regular flour would be fine.

4 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackiestackie

Ingredients:

(makes 5)

3/8 C whole wheat flour (6 Tbs)

3/8 C yellow cornmeal

1 Tbs sugar

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 C buttermilk

1 egg

butter (for cooking)

1 nectarine, sliced thinly

For the streusel:

1/2 C whole wheat flour

1/2 C dark brown sugar, packed

1 tsp cinnamon

6 Tbs cold unsalted butter, cut into chunks

Directions:

Put together the streusel by mixing all the ingredients together.

a

Then using a pastry cutter, fork, or your fingers to work the butter into the other ingredients until it looks crumbly. Set aside.

b

Whisk together the flours, sugar, baking powder, and baking soda. Add the buttermilk and eggs and whisk until combined.

c

In a frying pan over medium heat, melt a little bit of butter (just enough to coat your pan). Place 3-4 slices of nectarine in the pan and let cook for about 30 seconds. Pour about 1/3 C batter over the nectarines and cook for about 30 seconds.

photo 1

Sprinkle approximately 2 Tbs of the streusel topping over the top of the pancake and continue to cook until the pancake is cooked through and the batter on top looks completely dry, 3-4 minutes.

photo 2

Flip and cook for another 2-3 minutes.

photo 3

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

