Lazy Day Pancakes

Hi Fancakes,

So, these aren’t really “lazy” pancakes per se, but I’m having a lazy day thus making these lazy day pancakes…Anyway, I saw a recipe for Applesauce Pancakes in the new issue of Martha Stewart and I decided to roll with it. Part of the appeal of the Martha pancakes (we’re on a first-name basis)was her recipe for homemade Pink Applesauce, but again, since I was being lazy and I conveniently had 1 container of Mott’s apple sauce in my fridge, that’s what I used.

photo 4

I also left out the sour cream that Martha recommends you serve the pancakes with because (1) I didn’t have any sour cream and (2) I don’t like sour cream…In any case, I do think you should try the pancakes with sour cream if you like sour cream because I can totally envision (is there a word for that with taste? like entaste?) how those flavors would be awesome together.

(image from soap.com)

Enough of my making excuses for being lazy…These pancakes were awesome. They’re lightly sweet and apple-y, with a hint of butteriness. They’re easy to make, they don’t need any toppings (although basically anything would be good on them), and they’re basically awesome. So yeah, bow to these pancakes and then eat all of them. ALL THE PANCAKES.

4.25 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackiestackie.25

Ingredients (recipe adapted from the October 2014 Martha Stewart magazine)

makes 6

1 C flour

1 1/2 Tbs sugar

1/2 Tbs baking powder

3/4 tsp Kosher salt

1 egg

1 C milk

1 single-serving container of Mott’s All Natural apple sauce (3.9 oz)

4 Tbs unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

In a large bowl, whisk together all the ingredients.

photo 1

 

Heat a nonstick pan over medium heat. Add a little bit of oil, just enough to lightly coat the pan (the butter in the batter will make up for the rest).

Cook a ladleful of batter at a time (about 1/3 C batter) for 3-4 minutes.

photo 2

Flip and cook for another 2 minutes.

photo 3

Finish cooking the rest of the batter and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

