Uh Oh, Spaghetti Squasho’s

Hey Fancakes,

First, I totally had this post written and (I thought) posted, but then Chrome went all crazy on me thus the late posting.  Sorry! Anyway, this week I made spaghetti squash pancakes.  I’d had this squash sitting in my fridge for a few weeks

IMG_1407

I’d had plans to roast it, puree it, and then make something delicious…but I also didn’t take the time to figure out what type of squash it was (in my defense, when I picked this up as part of my friend’s CSA, it was just labeled as a “winter squash”) which just made me continue to put off cooking with it at all.

Finally, I pulled myself together and did some googling…

squash

(from Epicurious)

and figured out that I had a spaghetti squash. A little more googling and I found Martha’s spiced squash pancake recipe. I didn’t quite have everything that she used on hand so I just winged it and made substitutions where I thought they would work.

IMG_1415

The spice level in these pancakes is definitely there/noticeable/in your face – so if you’ve been looking for some flava, you found it. The pancakes also passed my newest test – the fiance is notoriously picky so if he’s willing to try something and takes more than 1 bite, I know I have a winner – he ate a whole pancake! Spaghetti squash FTW.

4 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackiestackie

Ingredients:

Olive oil, for cooking

1 clove garlic

1 Tbs chives, chopped

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp paprika

salt and pepper

2 C roasted spaghetti squash

1 egg, lightly beaten

2 Tbs flour

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 375°F. Quarter your spaghetti squash and drizzle each piece with some olive oil and pepper. Roast, cut side down for 1 hour.

IMG_1409

Let cool slightly and then using a fork, scrape out the squash into a bowl. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix together with a fork.

IMG_1410

Go from this (above) to this (below!).

IMG_1411

Heat a nonstick pan over medium low heat and add 1 Tbs of olive oil. Cook 2 forkfuls of batter at a time, using your fork to spread the batter into a thin pancake.

IMG_1412

Cook for 3-4 minutes until golden brown on the bottom. Flip and cook for another 2 minutes.

IMG_1413

Leave a Reply

