Do You Know What They Call A Radish In France?

Radis. Bonus points if you can tell what movie quote I just butchered!!

Happy Sunday Fancakes! So, I was perusing the Farmers’ Market during my lunch break this week and I saw these BEAUTIFUL French Breakfast Radishes.IMG_1425

I know, right? So cute. I’d never worked with these before but I had faith that my trusty friend Google could turn up some interesting recipes for me to work off of. I ended up using this recipe for Savory Chinese Turnip Pancakes from The Woks of Life (great blog name, right?) and I thought they turned out pretty awesome.

IMG_1436

They’re sort of like the weirdly awesome babies of Scallion Pancakes and Luobo Gao (Chinese turnip cakes). I’ve never made Luobo Gao, but I have made Scallion Pancakes and while they’re delicious, they’re kind of a pain to make. Lots of rolling and re-rolling. These Radish Pancakes were definitely easier to make, although they take a little bit of time since each pancake spends about 10 minutes in the pan all together.

IMG_1429

(some grated radish)

The original recipe calls for a couple Asian ingredients (dried shrimp and Chinese sausage). I happened to have dried shrimp in the fridge, but it’s not a big deal if you don’t. Also, I didn’t have any Chinese sausage (or thick cut smoky bacon, which the original recipe recommends as a substitute) on hand so instead I just cooked the pancakes in some bacon drippings that I save whenever I make bacon…people do that, right?

IMG_1430

(just some dried shrimp hangin’ out)

The pancakes are nice and crispy on the outside but soft on the inside…almost like a really thin hash brown. They’re a little plain on their own, but with the simple dipping sauce, they get pretty addictive. I basically had a plate of these for dinner. And, since you cut up the pancakes into wedges, it gets hard to keep track of how many you’ve eaten…which I’m totally fine with.

3.75 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackie.75

Ingredients:

(makes 5 pancakes)

2 Tbs dried shrimp

1 Tbs chopped chives or scallions

1 C grated French Breakfast Radishes (about 5)

1 C flour

1 Tbs cornstarch

pinch pepper

1 egg

1 1/4 C water

1 tsp sesame oil

bacon drippings, for cooking

dipping sauce (1 Tbs soy sauce, 1 Tbs water, 1 tsp honey — whisked together well)

Directions:

Grate the radish, chop the chives, and roughly chop the dried shrimp (rinse the shrimp under warm water first to slightly soften them up). Add these 3 ingredients and all the rest into the grated radish and whisk well.

IMG_1431

Heat a nonstick pan over medium heat and add 1 tsp of bacon drippings to the pan. Cook 1/3 C batter at a time, spreading the batter out into a thinnish pancake once you add it to the pan. Cook for 4 minutes.

IMG_1432

Flip and cook for another 4 minutes.

IMG_1433

Flip again and cook for 1 minute. Then, flip one last time and cook for 1 minute (so you’re cooking each side twice overall). Slice the pancakes into wedges and serve with the dipping sauce!

Leave a Reply

