B is for: Bacon, Bleu Cheese, and Buckwheat.

Hey fancakes,

Have you ever told your friends and family that you’re into something and then, because everyone you know is awesome, you constantly get gifts/emails/messages related to that interest area? Yeah, s0 that happens to me with pancakes and owls (this blog could’ve been “so you think you can owl” in a HEARTBEAT).  Anyway, shoutout to my friend Aryn who emailed me this recipe from what should i eat for breakfast today for buckwheat pancakes with bacon and bleu cheese.

IMG_1459

I’d been sitting on the recipe for awhile because I’m not a huge fan of bleu cheese but this morning I just felt like mixing it up a little. I ran over to the store and grabbed some mild smelling bleu cheese (yes, I stood in the cheese aisle and sniffed all the bleu cheeses to pick what I thought would be the mildest – I am that person), bacon, and green onions. Frankly, if you like bleu cheese, this mix of ingredients is hard to go wrong with.

(basically how I feel about bleu cheese – image from arcamax)

I can’t say that I love bleu cheese now, but even if you’re like me, I’d encourage you to try this recipe – it’s actually got a pretty perfect balance of salty and sweet and the bleu cheese really just lends a subtle creamy, salty, earthy underflavor to everything (“underflavor,” trademarked!).

IMG_1449

So the only ingredient I actually had a problem with was the buckwheat! I thought it made the pancakes a little too sandy/gritty. I’ve tried to remedy that problem by adding an egg and using whole wheat flour instead. I agree with the original recipe that you need something a little more substantial than regular flour for these pancakes but 100% buckwheat just wasn’t quite right to me. You could go cRaZy and do 1/2 buckwheat + 1/2 whole wheat, or even throw in some rye flour! (wut wut!)

IMG_1451

This was definitely one of those recipes where I would take a bite, chew thoughtfully, and have to take another bite to really figure out the flavor profile…I’d say I ate about a half of the stack before I felt like I had really gotten a handle of the flavor profile…totally worth it.

3.75 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackie.75

Ingredients:

(makes 4 pancakes – enough for 2 slightly hungry people)

1/2 C whole wheat flour

1/2 Tbs baking powder

pinch salt

1/2 C milk

1 egg

1 T butter, melted

1 T maple syrup (+ more for drizzling)

1/4 C green onions, chopped

1/8 C bleu cheese, chopped into small pieces

bacon, at least 4 pieces for the pancakes

oil for cooking

Directions:

Cook the bacon! I did mine in the oven but cook yours anyway you like best.

IMG_1450

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, milk, egg, butter, and maple syrup until you get a nice smooth batter.

IMG_1452

Add the chopped green onions and bleu cheese. Whisk well with a fork making sure to break up the bleu cheese crumbles.

IMG_1453

It’ll look a little like sludge, but no worries, it’ll taste good! Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat. Add about a quarter sized amount of oil to the pan. Cook a scant 1/3 C of batter at a time making sure to spread the batter out a little – the batter will be on the thick side.

IMG_1454

Cook for about 2 minutes, until the top is dry and you can see that the bottom is nice and browned.

IMG_1455

Flip and cook for another 2-3 minutes. Layer the pancakes with bacon and drizzle with syrup. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

