Quince, Rhymes with Prince!

Hey Fancakes,

Sorry for the late post! I had some old friends from college come visit me this weekend (both of whom are ihopapotami!) and the pancaking got a bit delayed. In any case, I wasn’t sure what to do this week until I remembered that my other friend (also an ihopapotami…basically if we’re friends, I’m making you do a pancake review) had given me some quince from her CSA! I’ve never cooked with quince but they smelled delicious so I figured it wouldn’t be too hard to find a good recipe.

IMG_1476 - Copy

I did a fair bit of research and everything I read was basically true – quince smell delicious, they’re almost impossible to eat raw (just very tart and dry), but after you cook them, they turn into this beautiful shade of pink and taste like a magical apple-pear hybrid. MAGICAL.

(photo from flowerona.com) These flowers, btw, they’re quince blossoms! I think they’re my new favorite – I’ve never seen them in person but if the google image search can be trusted, they’re all stunning.

Right, so after a quick search, I found this recipe from Saveur for Quince Pancakes that I followed exactly (except for making a half recipe). Besides the whole poach the quince part, the recipe is really quick to put together. And, even though the poaching takes a bit of time, you don’t need to babysit the quince – I watched an episode of Gilmore Girls while the quince was simmering away.

IMG_1478 (1) - Copy

Flavor-wise the pancakes were pretty good. There’s a light sweetness and then just the right bit of acidity from the quince. In addition to the apple-pear flavor, I thought that the quince had a little bit of apricoty-citrusness. Definitely use the powdered sugar, the extra sweetness on top really brings out the tartness of the quince.

Texturally, the pancakes are pretty soft – the pancakes are really fluffy but also burn easily. If you’re worried about your pancaking powers, I would recommend making slightly smaller pancakes so you can control the cook time and temperature better.

Overall, I’m definitely glad I tried these pancakes, if for no other reason than I got to use quince. I might have to join a CSA myself just so I can get weird/new vegetables and fruit for me to make pancakes out of.

3.5 out of 5 stackies: stackiestackiestackie .5

Ingredients:

(makes 5 pancakes)

1 quince, peeled, cored, and diced into chunks

2 Tbs sugar

3/4 C milk

1 T butter, melted (+ more for cooking)

1 small egg

1/2 C flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

powdered sugar

Directions:

Cook your chunked quince, sugar, and 1/4 C water over low heat for about half an hour. The quince will get very soft and the liquid will be almost done. Transfer the quince to a food processor and puree for just a few seconds (you want some chunks to remain). You could also use a potato masher if you want even chunkier quince! After the quince has cooled, whisk in the milk, melted butter, and egg. Sift in the flour, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, and salt.

IMG_1472 - Copy

Stir until just combined. The batter will be a very very light yellow – almost like a suuuper creamy corn chowder.

Heat a nonstick pan over medium low heat. Melt a sliver of butter (just enough to cover the bottom of the pan). Cook 1/3 C batter at a time.

IMG_1474

Cook for about 2-3 minutes, until the bottom is fully cooked, and the edges look a little dry. Flip and cook for another 2-3 minutes.

IMG_1475 - Copy

Top with powdered sugar and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

