The Great Northern War – Part Deux

Editor’s note: here’s the second post in the republication of my 2-part series on poffertjes vs. aebleskiver!

Behold the contender: Aebleskiver (Danish Pancakes)!

Aebleskiver are little puffed pancakes often filled with a variety of delicious fillings. The recipe makes about 30 pancakes and I made 10 with milk chocolate ganache, 10 with blackberry jam (store-bought), and 10 plain.  (Get the original recipe from Williams-Sonoma, and mine here!)

These pancakes are delicious, but they were kind of a pain to make.  My biggest issues were with keeping the filling from leaking out of the pancakes and turning them.  Maybe I need a set of these?

(picture from http://jessicaburns.com/2011/11/aebleskivers/)

Probably not, though.  I think the keys to perfect aebleskiver are:

1. making sure you put enough butter in each well (see all that buttah?)

2. finding a good dough to filling ratio (which I did not excel at).
These look okay, but really in the bottom well and top-right well, there’s way too much jam. Those will eventually leak out, burn in the bottom of the well, and keep other aebleskiver from cooking properly in those wells until I can clean them out…
A few things to keep in mind are:
  • make sure you keep the fillings nice and cold – the warmer they are, the soupier they are, the more likely they’ll leak out of the pancakes and mess up the pan
  • use a swirling motion to fill the pan – when you 1st put the batter in, if you swirl from outside in, you’ll create a little well for the filling; then, when you cover the filling up, swirl from outside in again to create a filling-leak-proof pancake barrier
(this one came out nicely!)

I noticed that the batter looked really yellow in comparison to other pancake batters, I think because of the buttermilk.  I thought the plain pancakes were the best – the ganache ones may have been better with dark chocolate, and the jam ones were a bit too sweet for me.  The plain ones, though, were like the glorious child of fried dough and pancakes in bite-sized puffs.

I had the same pancake-testers try both the aebleskiver and poffertjes and they came out tied, so I guess I’m the official tie-breaker.  I’m struggling a little I think the poffertjes win the easier-prep battle, while the aebleskiver win the taste battle.  Ultimately, taste has got to win…

4.25 out of 5 stackies: 

Leave a Reply

